About us

West Virginia is one of the nation’s most rural states with over half of their population living in rural areas. It is very sparsely populated, with 1.85 million citizens in just over 24,000 square miles. The NASA WV EPSCoR has tailored its programs to the unique configuration of the state’s needs and strengths and limitations of various colleges and universities in the state in a way that seems to make the best use of the opportunity represented by NASA’s vision in establishing the NASA EPSCoR program.  Our mosaic of programs covers all aspects of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) education pipeline and research in West Virginia. Our partners in academia, high tech industry, and government are hard at work to ensure that we have a highly cost-efficient and seamless transition between our programs and those of our partners.

The lead institution for the NASA WV EPSCoR program is West Virginia University (WVU), which also houses the WVSGC. WVU Research Corporation is the fiscal agent for NASA West Virginia EPSCoR.

Download NASA WV EPSCoR Brochure

Coordination with WV EPSCoR Committee occurs through the members of the NASA WV EPSCoR Committee appointed by the chairman of the State EPSCoR Committee. These members actively participate in the deliberation of the NASA WV EPSCoR Committee and share the views of the State Committee with the other members. Their insight and deep involvement have ensured the NASA WV EPSCoR Program does not duplicate other EPSCoR efforts in the state and is in line with West Virginia’s overall goals for economic, science, and technology development.

 

Committee members:

The NASA West Virginia EPSCoR committee members are devoted to advancing West Virginia’s scientific and technological development, and promoting research activities in direct support of NASA’s mission and scientific enterprises. NASA WV EPSCoR is an integral part of the mosaic of research infrastructure building programs conducted by the WV EPSCoR Committee as an umbrella organization for all EPSCoR programs in the state. Current members of the NASA WV EPSCoR Committee are listed below:

 

Dr. Melanie C. Page, Director 
NASA West Virginia Space Grant Consortium / NASA WV EPSCoR
West Virginia University
886 Chestnut Ridge Rd
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone: (304) 293-5913
Email: Melanie.Page@mail.wvu.edu

Candy Cordwell, Assistant Director
NASA WV EPSCoR
West Virginia University
341 Mineral Resources Building
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone: (304) 293-3927
Email: Candy.Cordwell@mail.wvu.edu

Dr. Majid Jaridi, Director Emeritus
Phone: (304) 276-1009

Dr. Juliana Serafin
Director, Division of Science and Research
Project Director, WVEPSCoR
WV Higher Education Policy Commission
1018 Kanawha Blvd., E, Suite 1101
Charleston, WV 25301
304.558.4128 x 3
Email:  Juliana.Serafin@wvresearch.org

Bethany College
www.bethanywv.edu

Lisa M. Reilly, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Goulding-Woolery Professor
Chair, Department of Physical and Computational Sciences
Bethany, WV 26032 
Phone: 304.829.7244
Fax: 304.829.7113
Email: lreilly@bethanywv.edu

 

Bluefield State College
www.bluefieldstate.edu

Ted A. Lewis, Ed.D.
Provost & Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs
Bluefield State College 
219 Rock Street, Bluefield, WV 24701 
Phone: (304) 327-4161
Email: tlewis@bluefieldstate.edu

 

Columbus Technologies and Services, Inc. 

Mina Samii, Ph.D.
Executive Vice President of Aerospace
Columbus Technologies and Services, Inc.
Phone: (240) 401-3536
Email: msamii@columbususa.com

Community and Technical College System of WV
www.wvctcs.org

Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Ph.D.
Chancellor 
WV Council for Community & Technical College Education
1018 Kanawha Blvd., East, Suite 700
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: (304) 558-2411
Fax: (304) 558-1646
Email: tucker@wvctcs.org

Fairmont State University
www.fairmontstate.edu

Mirta M. Martin, PhD

President
222 Hardway Hall, Fairmont State University
1201 Locust Avenue
Fairmont, West Virginia, 26554
O:  (304) 367-4151
C:  (304) 534-1692
Email:Mirta.martin@fairmontstate.edu

 

Glenville State College
www.glenville.edu

Dr. Kevin L. Evans
Professor of Chemistry, Science and Mathematics Department
402C Science Hall
Glenville, WV 26351
Phone: (304) 462-6110
Email: Kevin.Evans@glenville.edu

Marshall University
www.marshall.edu

Dr. John M. Maher
Vice President for Research, Marshall University
Arthur Weisberg Family Applied Engineering Complex, Fourth Floor
1 John Marshall Drive
Huntington, WV  25755 /> Phone: (304)697.2770
Email: maherj@marshall.edu

 

NASA IV&V Facility 
www.nasa.gov/ivv

Mr. Wesley Deadrick
IV&V Office Lead
100 University Drive
Fairmont, WV 26554
Phone: (304) 367-8337
Email: wesley.w.deadrick@nasa.gov

Green Bank Observatory
greenbankobservatory.org

Dr. Karen O’Neil
Director, Green Bank Observatory
155 Observatory Rd
P.O. Box 2
Phone: (304) 456-2130
Email: koneil@nrao.edu

Polyhedron Learning Media, Inc.
www.polyhedronlearning.com

Dr. Jeanne Finstein
President/Director of Development 
105 Carmel Road
Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone: (304) 242-0341
Email: jfinstein@polyhedronlearning.com

Shepherd University
www.shepherd.edu

Dr. Reza Mirdamadi
Chair of Computer Science, Mathematics & Engineering
Associate Professor of Engineering
Department of Computer Science, Mathematics & Engineering
Snyder Hall Room 225
Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone: (304) 876-5368
Email: rmirdama@shepherd.edu

TechConnectWV
www.techconnectwv.org

Ms. Anne Barth
Executive Director
1740 Union Carbide Drive, Suite 4203
South Charleston, WV 25303
Phone: (304) 444-2918
Email: anne@techconnectwv.org

The Clay Center for Arts and Sciences of West Virginia
www.theclaycenter.org

Mr. Al Najjar
President and CEO
1 Clay Square 
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: (304) 561-3570
Email: alnajjar@theclaycenter.org

West Liberty University
www.westliberty.edu

Dr. Karen Kettler
Dean, College of Sciences
Campus Service Center Box 144
West Liberty, WV 26074
Phone: (304) 336-8052
Email: kkettler@westliberty.edu

WV High Technology Foundation
www.wvhtf.org

Mr. James L. Estep
President & CEO
1000 Technology Drive, Suite 1000 
Fairmont, WV 26554 
Phone: (304) 333-6814
Email: jestep@wvhtf.org

West Virginia State University
www.wvstateu.edu

Dr. Naveed Zaman
Dean, Natural Sciences and Mathematics
P.O. Box 1000
816 Wallace Hall, Department of Mathematics
Institute, WV 25112
Phone: (304) 766-3394
Email: zamanna@wvstateu.edu

West Virginia University
www.wvu.edu

Dr. Duncan Lorimer
Associate Dean for Research, Eberly College of Arts and Sciences
White Hall, Room G61
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone: (304) 293-4867
Email: duncan.lorimer@mail.wvu.edu

 

West Virginia University Institute of Technology
www.wvutech.edu

Stephen D. Goodman, Ph.D.
Interim Dean, Leonard C. Nelson College of Engineering and Sciences
WVU Institute of Technology
410 Neville Street
Beckley, West Virginia 25801
Phone: 304-929-1670
Email: stephen.goodman@mail.wvu.edu

West Virginia Wesleyan College
www.wvwc.edu

Dr. Joseph Wiest
Professor of Physics & Engineering
Department of Physics and Engineering
122 Christopher Hall
Buckhannon, WV 26201
Phone: (304) 473-8062
Email: wiest@wvwc.edu

Wheeling University 
www.wju.edu

Dr. Charles Wood 
Director of the Erma Ora Byrd Center for Educational Technologies
316 Washington Avenue
Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone: (304) 243-2468
Email: chuckwood@wju.edu