Committee Members

Committee Members and their Affiliations

The NASA West Virginia EPSCoR committee members are devoted to advancing West Virginia’s scientific and technological development, and promoting research activities in direct support of NASA’s mission and scientific enterprises. NASA WV EPSCoR is an integral part of the mosaic of research infrastructure building programs conducted by the WV EPSCoR Committee as an umbrella organization for all EPSCoR programs in the state. Current members of the NASA WV EPSCoR Committee are listed below:

STaR Division: Science, Technology and Research

STaR Division: Science, Technology and Research logo; Higher Education Policy Commission logo

Juliana Serafin, Ph.D.

Senior Director, STaR Division: Science, Technology and Research
Project Director, WVEPSCoR
WV Higher Education Policy  Commission
1018 Kanawha Blvd., E, Suite 700
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: (304) 558-4128

Bethany College

Bethany College Crest

Dr. Lisa M. Reilly

Associate Professor of Chemistry
Goulding-Woolery Professor
Chair, Department of Physical and Computational Sciences
Bethany, WV 26032

Phone: 304.829.7244


Bluefield State University

Bluefield State University logo

Ted A. Lewis, Ed.D.

Provost & Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs
Bluefield State University
219 Rock Street, Bluefield, WV 24701

Phone: (304) 327-4161


Community and Technical College System of West Virginia

West Virginia Community & Technical College System logo

Dr. Chris Treadway

Vice Chancellor
WV Council for Community & Technical College Education
1018 Kanawha Blvd., East, Suite 700
Charleston, WV 25301

Phone: (304) 558-0265


Fairmont State University

Fairmont State University logo

Steven Roof, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Science & Technology
328 HHH / 302 ET
1201 Locust Avenue
Fairmont, West Virginia, 26554

Phone:  (304) 367-4363


Glenville State University

Glenville State University logo

Leslie Mason

Senior Director of Grants and Compliance
Suite 2-215 Heflin Administration Building
Glenville, WV 26351

Phone: (304) 462-6387


Marshall University

Marshall University logo

John M. Maher, Ph.D.

Vice President for Research
1 John Marshall Drive
Huntington, WV 25755

Phone: (304) 696-4748


NASA IV&V Program

NASA logo

Ms. Joelle Spagnuolo-Loretta

NASA IV&V Office Lead
100 University Drive
Fairmont, WV 26554

Phone: (681) 753-5254


Green Bank Observatory

Green Bank Observatory logo

Karen O’Neil, Ph.D.

Director, Green Bank Observatory
155 Observatory Rd
P.O. Box 2

Phone: (304) 456-2130


Polyhedron Learning Media, Inc.

Polyhedron Learning Media Inc. logo

Jeanne Finstein, Ed.D.

President/Director of Development
105 Carmel Road
Wheeling, WV 26003

Phone: (304) 242-0341


Shepherd University

Shepherd University logo

Prof. Jason Miller

Associate Professor
Byrd Science Center 309
Shepherdstown, WV 25443

Phone: (304) 876-5070


West Liberty University

West Liberty University logo

Karen Kettler, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Sciences
Campus Service Center Box 144
West Liberty, WV 26074

Phone: (304) 336-8070


WV High Technology Foundation

West Virginia High Technology Foundation logo; WV High Tech Foundation logo

Mr. James L. Estep

President & CEO
1000 Technology Drive, Suite 1000
Fairmont, WV 26554

Phone: (304) 333-6814


West Virginia State University

West Virginia State University logo; West Virginia State University seal; WVSU logo; WVSU seal

Naveed Zaman, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
816 Wallace Hall, Department of Mathematics
PO Box 1000
Institute, WV 25112

Phone: (304) 766-4248


West Virginia University

West Virginia University logo; WVU logo

Duncan Lorimer, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Research, Eberly College of Arts and Sciences
White Hall, Room G61
Morgantown, WV 26506

Phone: (304) 293-4867


West Virginia University Institute of Technology

West Virginia University Institute of Technology logo; WVU Institute of Technology logo

Dr. Tamara Floyd Smith

Leonard C. Nelson College of Engineering and Sciences
WVU Institute of Technology
410 Neville Street

Beckley, West Virginia 25801

Phone: 304-929-1670


West Virginia Wesleyan College

West Virginia Wesleyan College logo; WV Wesleyan college logo

Joseph Wiest, Ph.D.

Professor of Physics & Engineering
Department of Physics and Engineering
122 Christopher Hall
Buckhannon, WV 26201

Phone: (304) 473-8062


Wheeling University

Wheeling University logo; WV Wheeling University logo; West Virginia Wheeling University logo

Dr. Neetika Sharma

Chair, Assistant Professor of Physics and Engineering
316 Washington Avenue
Wheeling, WV 26003

Phone: 304-243-2287